Luke’s Wings

Luke’s Wings is an organization dedicated to the support of service members who have been wounded in battle. They help families travel to wherever their loved one(s) are being treated, at no cost to the families. They do this through charitable contributions, they are a 501(c)3 so all contributions are tax deductible within your individual limits.

Who They Are

They’re a small company, 6 employees, who have made it their mission to ensure injured service members do not need to spend holidays in hospitals by themselves. Luke’s Wings was started in 2008, and has been expanding its reach annually through corporate partnerships and the media. 

What They Do

Luke’s Wings purchases the plane tickets and plans the trips, then Luke’s Wings partners with other non-profit organizations that can provide other services including, but not limited to, free or discounted accommodations, meals, entertainment, local travel vouchers, city tours, etc. This allows families to be “present” with their loved ones when they’re needed the most.

 Hospitals are not warm and cozy locations, they’re not meant to be. Unlike many of us, injured Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Marines have little to no say in where they’ll be treated, and could end up on the other side of the country from their wives & children, or mothers & fathers. Having served at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center I can tell you with 100% certainty having family around makes a difference! 

Luke’s Wings has expanded, they now have (4) separate programs – The Wounded Warrior Transportation Assistance Program (WWTAP); Veterans in Hospice Transportation Assistance Program (HTAP); Texas Veterans Transportation Assistance Program (VTAP); and Special Operations Command Transportation Assistance Program (SOTAP). 

What Else Should I Know

Just about everything Luke’s Wings does is funded from charitable donations, they don’t make or sell anything – their mission is to help veterans and their families spend time together. I encourage people reading this to visit the website, do your homework and learn more about them. If you’re so inclined, they accept volunteers and are currently seeking to fill an intern position. I’ve been fortunate enough to not have been a patient during holidays, but I have been deployed for more holidays than I care to count – and it sucked, but at least I was doing something. Holidays are a time to spend with friends and family, and thanks to Luke’s Wings those who have been injured serving our country have opportunities they would not have otherwise. 

Disclaimer

I am not an employee of Luke’s Wings  and any errors noted are my own. If I have misrepresented, or misstated anything please provide constructive feedback so I may make the appropriate change(s). I’m doing my best to continue posting about one organization a month, using information and notes I took when I met with them – as well as additional research I completed online. All opinions and views are my own.

Author: Eric Jorgensen

I am a retired, widowed, disabled veteran who has a son on the Autism spectrum. I have learned, and accepted, I am owed nothing. I'm a proponent for people taking responsibility for their own actions, and making changes to their circumstances if they're not happy. My mission is to help people help themselves, by raising awareness of resources available, pointing them in the right direction; and being a coach, mentor, cheerleader. I'm starting the Christine Jorgensen Foundation - which will pay for therapies (speech, physical, occupational, etc...) for those that have been declined by insurance or need more than approved for - on a referral only basis.

2 thoughts on “Luke’s Wings”

  1. Incredible! Thank you Eric for sharing this important information. Your unselfish art of giving never ceases to amaze. Not only are you a true professional, an expert in your role as a Financial Advisor, but you have a heart full of passion… what an awesome combination! An honor to work with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

