Building Homes for Heroes

Building Homes for Heroes is an organization who gifts mortgage-free homes that meet the needs of the men and women who have selflessly served our country. I found out about them through NAPFA (The National Association of Personal Financial Advisors) when I volunteered to provide a year’s worth of planning pro bono to a family in need. Building Homes for Heroes partners with financial planners to help these families, many of whom may be first time home buyers, maintain their home expenses and plan for a successful future.

Who They Are (from their website)

Building Homes for Heroes® is a national non-profit, non-partisan 501(c)(3) organization founded in 2006.

Building Homes for Heroes® is strongly committed to rebuilding lives and supporting the brave men and women who were injured while serving the country during the time of the wars in Iraq or Afghanistan. The organization builds or modifies homes, and gifts them, mortgage-free, to veterans and their families.

What They Do (From their website)

 

The organization gifts mortgage-free homes that meet the needs of the men and women who have selflessly served our country. These homes not only help to remove the family’s financial burden, they help to restore the individual’s freedom, and enable the veteran to lead a more independent and productive civilian life.

The organization gifted 17 homes in 2013, 23 homes in 2014, 28 in 2015 and has the high hopes of gifting as many as 36 homes in 2016, equal to one home every 10 days. To further assist veterans, the organization has added programs, including financial planning services, family funding, and emergency support. Each home recipient is provided with a financial planning representative. This program is designed to provide the new, and sometimes first-time, homeowners with advice and guidance needed to maintain home expenses and to plan for a successful future.

What Else Should I Know

I think what I find most impressive is the program service percentage – as of 31 December 2015 they were at 93.8%. This is a phenomenal percentage going towards programs, and in my opinion speaks to how conscious the President and Board are of minimizing fundraising and administrative costs – there are NO salaries paid; the President has donated his time and energy for the last 11 years!

Also – you can help in more ways than just a cash donation. They’re looking for professional trades people; volunteers to assist in any capacity – not just construction; or material, land or equipment someone is willing to donate. You, or your organization, may also host a community fundraiser on their behalf. Their website has a ton more information, and I encourage anybody interested in helping our nation’s veterans to check it out here.

Disclaimer

I am not an employee of Building Homes for Heroes and any errors noted are my own. If I have misrepresented, or misstated anything please provide constructive feedback so I may make the appropriate change(s). I’m doing my best to continue posting about one organization a month, using information and notes I took when I met with them – as well as additional research I completed online. All opinions and views are my own.

Author: Eric Jorgensen

I am a retired, widowed, disabled veteran who has a son on the Autism spectrum. I have learned, and accepted, I am owed nothing. I'm a proponent for people taking responsibility for their own actions, and making changes to their circumstances if they're not happy. My mission is to help people help themselves, by raising awareness of resources available, pointing them in the right direction; and being a coach, mentor, cheerleader. I'm starting the Christine Jorgensen Foundation - which will pay for therapies (speech, physical, occupational, etc...) for those that have been declined by insurance or need more than approved for - on a referral only basis.

Leave a Reply

