Pathfinders for Autism

Pathfinders for Autism was founded in February 2000 by parents of children with Autism, creating a Resource Center shortly after. In the years since Pathfinders was founded it has grown to be Maryland’s largest Autism organization (to the best of my knowledge). Their most recent effort towards raising awareness has been with the staffo of emergency rooms throughout the state, helping nurses and doctors understand the additional complications which may be present when an individual with Autism arrives – for example non-verbal or seeming lack of comprehension to questions asked.

Who They Are 

Pathfinders’ Mission statement is short and to the point (from their website) – “to improve the lives of individuals with autism and the people who care for them. We accomplish this through a variety of programs and services, all of which are offered free of charge.” Personally, I continue to refer clients and other professionals to their website because of the immense amount of information to be found there. I’ve also been fortunate enough to participate in a few of their programs, and I was blown away by how well they were run.

What They Do 

Pathfinders does so much, it’s difficult to capture it in a format like this – so I am going to highlight a few of the things which impress me the most and encourage you to check out their website. I want to stress – many of the resources and information provided isn’t just for Autism, it can be applied equally well to just about any disability.

The Pathfinders for Autism Resource Center is how they originally started, and remains a significant part of their daily activities. Pathfinders’ staff will respond personally to all inquiries made – whether through Facebook, e-mail or phone; and they distribute monthly “Parent Tips” covering a wide variety of topics.

They sponsor workshops around the state – bringing in experts on topics like vocational rehab, financial planning and dietary interventions, to name a few. Annually they are a sponsor of Honestly Autism Day, combining a resource fair with well-known Key Note speakers and break-out sessions.

As mentioned above, they train First Responders – this includes Law Enforcement, Fire Fighters, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) and, most recently, Emergency Rooms. These trainings are more than powerpoint presentations, Pathfinders will bring self-advocate volunteers and provide scenario-based instruction – which in my opinion is really the only way to help people truly understand what they could be faced with.

What Else Should I Know

As I stated, Pathfinders for Autism does so much more than I can fit into this medium. Personally I’ve used their “Autism by Age” tab on their website to help me figure out what to do after my wife passed away, and I continue to refer to it even today. Their Resources and Help tab offers information for residents and non-residents alike, as well as a search tool for providers and services (and much, much more).

Pathfinders for Autism is an authorized 501(c)3, you can find their 990 and other financial information on their website. They sponsor a Run Wild for Autism 5k Race and 1 Mile Fun Run & Walk at the Baltimore Zoo, or you can donate online. In my opinion, they have proven themselves to be extremely good stewards of the funds received, and are a most deserving organization.

Disclaimer

I am not an employee of Pathfinders for Autism and any errors noted are my own. If I have misrepresented, or misstated anything please provide constructive feedback so I may make the appropriate change(s). All opinions and views are my own.

Author: Eric Jorgensen

I am a retired, widowed, disabled veteran who has a son on the Autism spectrum. I have learned, and accepted, I am owed nothing. I'm a proponent for people taking responsibility for their own actions, and making changes to their circumstances if they're not happy. My mission is to help people help themselves, by raising awareness of resources available, pointing them in the right direction; and being a coach, mentor, cheerleader. I've founded the Christine Jorgensen Foundation - which will pay for therapies (speech, physical, occupational, etc...) for those that have been declined by insurance or need more than approved for - on a referral only basis; and Special Needs Navigator - a for profit company to help individuals and families find their way through the disability resources labyrinth.

Leave a Reply

