Manna Food Center

Manna Food Center is a food bank headquartered in Gaithersburg, Maryland focused on eliminating hunger in Montgomery County, Maryland. It’s a little more localized than the non-profits I usually spotlight; but with something like eliminating hunger I believe it’s more effective to focus locally and spread.

Who They Are 

Manna Food Center is a food bank – they provide food to approximately 40k people each year; in addition to supplying soup kitchens, food pantries and shelters throughout the County. As a food pantry they’ve established distribution sites to enable those who need the help to readily access it. Before meeting with them I had no idea what the difference was between a food bank and food pantry – a food bank stores the food and products; the pantry is what actually distributes the food. A food bank could (and Manna does) supply multiple food pantries.

I was shocked to learn 1/3 of students attending public schools receive free or discounted lunches – because of how wealthy I’ve perceived Montgomery County to be. To be clear – Montgomery County is wealthy, but they also have a large population of seniors and those with disabilities who may struggle given the high cost of living and additional healthcare expenses.

What They Do 

Manna Food Center serves over 3,700 families each month! Rather than list out their strategic plan in detail, I invite (and encourage) you to read about it here. In brief, they have (3) priorities (from their website):

(1) Participant-centered & data driven program delivery

(2) Community Leadership & Advocacy

(3) A values-based business model that supports the people who make our work possible.

What Else Should I Know

They’ve repurposed an old school bus into a mobile kitchen and pop-up pantry; bringing nutritious foods AND providing the opportunity for those living in the communities reached to learn how to prepare them.

Manna doesn’t just provide a handout. They do their best to help those they serve understand the importance of making healthy lifestyle choices, provide them with the opportunity to do so and in many cases bridge the gap when families hit a rough spot; something I think all of us can relate to – even though maybe not to the extent we didn’t know where our next meal(s) were coming from.

Disclaimer

I am not an employee of Manna Food Center and any errors noted are my own. If I have misrepresented, or misstated anything please provide constructive feedback so I may make the appropriate change(s). All opinions and views are my own.

Author: Eric Jorgensen

I am a retired, widowed, disabled veteran who has a son on the Autism spectrum. I have learned, and accepted, I am owed nothing. I'm a proponent for people taking responsibility for their own actions, and making changes to their circumstances if they're not happy. My mission is to help people help themselves, by raising awareness of resources available, pointing them in the right direction; and being a coach, mentor, cheerleader. I'm starting the Christine Jorgensen Foundation - which will pay for therapies (speech, physical, occupational, etc...) for those that have been declined by insurance or need more than approved for - on a referral only basis.

Leave a Reply

